Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Zakat is the compulsory giving of a set proportion of one's wealth to charity. It is regarded as a type of worship and of self-purification. Zakat is the third Pillar of Islam

Zakat does not refer to charitable gifts given out of kindness or generosity, but to the systematic giving of 2.5% of one's wealth each year to benefit the poor.

The benefits of Zakat, apart from helping the poor, are as follows:
  • Obeying God

  • Helping a person acknowledge that everything comes from God on loan and that we do not really own anything ourselves
    • And since we cannot take anything with us when we die we need not cling to it
      • Acknowledging that whether we are rich or poor is God's choice
        • So we should help those he has chosen to make poor
      • Learning self-discipline
      • Freeing oneself from the love of possessions and greed
      • Freeing oneself from the love of money
      • Freeing oneself from love of oneself
      • Behaving honestly
    • The 2.5% rate only applies to cash, gold and silver, and commercial items. There are other rates for farm and mining produce, and for animals.
      [Image: 28fixes_C_img_blog427.jpg] In Somali a Famine happened there was a drought please Pay Zakat! It is for your own good!

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)